On this day in 2012 Liverpool won the League Cup for the 8th time.

Following a memorable semi-final tie against Manchester City, it seemed all the hard work was over with for Liverpool as they faced Championship side Cardiff City at Wembley. The match got off to a far from ideal start for Kenny Dalglish’s men however, as they conceded the opening goal less than 20 minutes into the match, Cardiff’s goal coming from Joe Mason. The second half yielded a better outcome for the Reds as Slovakian centre back Martin Skrtel found the equaliser, acting instinctively to fire home a Luis Suarez shot that bounded off the post.

After 90 minutes the score remained 1-1, taking the match into extra time. In the second half of extra time Dirk Kuyt though he had won it for Liverpool, netting on 108 minutes to make it 2-1. But to Cardiff’s credit they kept fighting and their efforts were rewarded two minutes from the final whistle when Ben Turner grabbed a last-gasp equaliser, taking the game to penalties. After misses from Steven Gerrard and Charlie Adam for Liverpool and Kenny Miller for Cardiff, the Bluebirds were the first to net in the shootout, Don Cowie converting from 12 yards to give the underdogs the advantage. From there however, Liverpool refused to miss as Dirk Kuyt, Stewart Downing and Glen Johnson all kept their cool to score from the spot. Unfortunately for the Championship outfit, they were only able to convert once more from their remaining three penalties, seeing Liverpool run out League Cup champions for a record eighth time after a 3-2 penalty shootout win.